God is my co-pilot?

dog is my co-pilot

dog is my co-pilot (Photo credit: origamidon)

 

I don’t know why it popped into my head this morning, but it did.  I was suddenly thinking about those bumper stickers that say “God is my co-pilot”.  I’ve never really thought about this before, but God really pushed the issue this morning.

 

 

 

Why would God be my co-pilot?  That’s kind of like having no knowledge of how to fly a jet and jumping into the cockpit and telling the pilot, “move over, I got this!”  And then steering the jet off the runway and into a ditch and wondering what happened.

 

 

 

I don’t want God to be my co-pilot.  I don’t want to be the pilot because I don’t know where the hell I’m going or how to get there if I did.  I don’t even know how to fly the plane or drive the car.

 

 

 

God is not my co-pilot.  He is the pilot, co-pilot, ground crew, mechanic, re-fuler, and flight tower.  I am the flight crew.  It’s my job to pass out the peanuts when He tells me too.  He even provides the peanuts.  It is my job to wander up and down the aisle of life and serve those on the same flight path as me.  As i’m giving you your mid-flight snack, please don’t ask me where we’re going.  I don’t know.  I’m not the pilot.  The pilot gave me these snacks to give to you to show that He is big enough to fly the plane and provide for everything you need.

 

 

 

I, we, need to learn more than anything how to be ok being nothing more than a servant.  Just staff.  God will provide everything you and I need to do the job.  I hope you’ll join me as I stop trying to force my way into the cockpit.  Pray for me to be happy that God has allowed me to push the snack cart.

 

 

 

p.s. there is no coach on Jesus airlines, He see’s us all as first class.

 

 

 

 

 

2 comments on “God is my co-pilot?

  1. ” I don’t want to be the pilot because I don’t know where the hell I’m going or how to get there if I did….It’s my job to pass out the peanuts when He tells me too. ” I love these lines, Brodie! 🙂 It’s going onto a 3×5 card and tuck it into my pouch this weekend, and whenever I get a bug in my bonnet about something, I’m gonna pull it out and remind myself… Thanks! 🙂 Have a blessed weekend! I’m off to dance and lead worship at the PowWow.

Leave a Reply

