Don’t restore iphone 5 via the cloud

English: An iPhone 4S on its setup screen.

English: An iPhone 4S on its setup screen. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 

It was time for me to upgrade my phone so I went from the iPhone 4s to the iPhone 5.  Cool new phone, but I had an immediate problem.  I backed up the 4s like normal and then chose to restore the iPhone 5 via the cloud as well.  That was a mistake.  It totally locked up my phone.  The screen started unexpectedly shutting off and then it just stopped turning on completely.

 

I tried to restore it by plugging it into my Mac and iTunes, but it was too late.  It just wouldn’t come back.  I looked at some Apple forums and saw that a few other people had had the same problem.  So I took the phone back into Verizon this morning and they replaced it.

 

This time I plugged the phone into my Mac and did a restore that way.  So far there have been no problems the second time around with this method.  My advice is to do at least the initial set up by connecting the phone to iTunes.  After that hopefully I won’t have any problems.

 

 

Leave a Reply

