Now entering the disability zone

Seal of the United States Social Security Admi...

Seal of the United States Social Security Administration. It appears on Social Security cards. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 

If you read my previous blog posts, you’ll see that I have had a long struggle with PTSD.  I’ve done everything I’m supposed to do and still struggle.  So, after going back to work and losing the job after a week, I have been advised by my doctor that it’s time to apply for disability.  This is not something I ever thought I’d have to do and I’m not looking forward to it.

 

It get worse though.  Because of my condition, I’m unable to work.  That means I’m bringing in no money.  In order to have any chance at getting approved for disability I need to have testing done that cost $2500 and isn’t covered by insurance.

 

Then there’s the statistic that the disability  government people will always deny a person the first one or two times they apply.  So, I will have to be able to pay to attempt at least 3 times.

 

A person also has to hire an attorney in order to have any chance of success.  As you can imagine, that’s more money out the door.

 

So, even before I’ve taken one step in applying for help I find myself in a quandary.  I have proven, to my dismay, that I’m unable to work.  Therefore, I can’t bring in any money.  So, exactly how do I try to get help when I don’t have access to the money that is needed to help me get assistance?  Not sure how this is going to work.  Maybe I’m just stuck.

 

 

 

One comment on “Now entering the disability zone

  1. The cost is why I haven’t pursued it, either. I can’t afford the tests with no job and no health insurance. Of course, to get a job, you have to have living references and give that I worked end of life care for elderly…well, fact is, they’re dead. Even Soc.Sec. wants living people to interview, and that’s hard to do will all of my blood family dead. I have no one for that. I will pray for you, Bro! I know how hard it is. Find a lawyer, one that specializes in Soc Sec disability. Best advice I can give.

Leave a Reply

