Which came first? The violence or the gun?

History of handgun carry permit laws, 1986-pre...

History of handgun carry permit laws, 1986-present. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 

Let me clearly state my position on guns.  I’m a gun owner.  I’m a former soldier and police officer.  I have a concealed carry permit in the state of Georgia which means I had to submit to background checks.  I own my guns legally.  I believe there is a need to be prepared to protect myself, my family and those in my community.  I’m also a member of the NRA and GeorgiaCarry.org.  I have never had to shoot a human being, and I don’t want to.

 

In the current gun debate, there is a lot of talk about stricter gun laws.  I agree that everyone who purchases a gun of any kind should have to submit to a back ground check, this includes at gun shows.  I believe that if an individual has already gone through the process to obtain a concealed carry permit, they have already gone through a very rigorous background check.  I agree that those who have been found to be mentally dangerous should be restricted from owning a gun.  I agree that convicted felons should not be permitted to own a gun.

 

I don’t believe that most of the current gun laws being debated will have an affect on the violence in the United States.  Looking at the gun and not the violence is a mistake.  A big mistake.  We, as a nation can debate gun laws, knife laws, bat laws, frying pan laws and any other potential weapon laws until the end of time and still not address the matter at the heart of the issue.

 

What’s at the heart of it?  The question that should be in public and government debate is why is there so much violence in the first place?  The method of violence will never matter unless we first look at the cause for the rise of violence in our country.  Of course, I have an opinion on the matter.  I believe we have turned our back on God in almost all levels in our country.  To even make this statement, there are many who would label me as intolerant.  How dare I suggest that there is one true God and that we are suffering the consequences of turning from Him as our guiding force.  But, it is what it is.

 

It’s a situation that could not be any clearer.  Look back on the short history of our country and trace the problem.  It’s fairly easy.  Let me quickly address one of the first arguments many have to this.  Yes, our country was founded on Christian principles and yes we have abandoned those principles on the basis of political correctness.  Yes, many Christians throughout history have made some pretty horrendous mistakes.  But, many more have given their lives to change their world for the better through the power of Jesus.

 

For some reason that is unknown to me, we are refusing to look back at our path and see where we may have gone off the rails.  Instead we pretend that because we spent a few years in a college somewhere, that we now have all of the answers to problems that have plagued mankind since the beginning of time.  I am truly baffled by the fact that our government and society is refusing to look back to see where we went wrong or where we should go from here.  If you are driving to a place you don’t know, no normal person would just keep trying new directions until they finally end up in the right place, if that ever happens.  No, you look back at your map or gps and figure out where you took the wrong turn.  Once you know that, then you can figure out how to adjust course to get back on the right path.

 

God is our gps and we have thrown Him out the window along with the map(the Bible) and decided that if we just keep driving and turning then we will make it to our destination.  This sounds like a definition of insanity to me.

 

 

One comment on “Which came first? The violence or the gun?

  1. Pingback: A Good Argument for Guns so “Make My Day” | Carrie Welborn

Leave a Reply

