Is it time to hide?

Tonight, after seeing some news stories over the past few weeks, I made the decision to close the Facebook page that I had that talked about PTSD issues.  Believe or not, it was a very hard decision to make.  It was a toss up between sharing things that may help others and protecting myself from what I see happening around me.

What I don’t want to happen to me is to be labeled as dangerous by the government.  That’s a scary thought.  I read a story tonight on a man in New York who had his gun and permit confiscated after reviews showed he was taking some type of medication for depression.  According to the article, he had no incidents of any type of violence.  The confiscation order was made based on his treatment.

Is there more to the story?  Probably.  But there was nothing more that the news could find according to the report.  I’m afraid that many more people will be doing the same as me.  Military members, police, fire and similar will be hiding.

This brings me to another point.  What exactly are the new and proposed gun laws going to accomplish?  In many of the instances of gun violence, the perpetrator didn’t go through legal channels to obtain a gun in the first place.  So, are the new and proposed gun laws really meant to prevent violence?  Or do they have other purposes.  I read an article tonight on the fight against knife violence in England.  They have already severely restricted guns to a great extreme.  It seems to me that there is a morality problem happening, and not a gun problem.

So what can we do?  I know the answer, but I don’t think it’s acceptable to a majority of people in the United States.  The answer is turning back to God.  Will that stop all violence?  No.  We live in a fallen world and the effects of sin are ever present.  But, I think someone would find it very difficult to prove to me that our country has actually improved.  Granted, we as a nation have made some great strides forward in certain areas.  Ending slavery comes to mind.  But, as a whole, we do not seem to be moving forward.  We have made Jesus a bad word and we are suffering the consequences.  We have and still are forcing the acceptance of all manor of sin in the name of equality and political correctness.  This is why I say that we will not do what needs to be done.  It represents all that the new enlightened movement goes against.

A couple last thoughts before I close.  One thing I will not, nor will I ever hide is that I put all of my faith in Jesus and the one true God.  There is only one path that is right.  It is spelled out in the New Testament of the Holy Bible.  John 3:16

When I was a police officer, it was always a goal of mine to try to stop a crime before it happened.  Unfortunately, this was a rarity.  There is just too much space to cover to find a crime in progress.  It does happen on occasion, but usually my job was reactionary.  So, who’s going to defend you and your family?

One comment on “Is it time to hide?

  1. I’m leaving my church for many of these same reasons. Last sunday I saw several civvies packing concealed in the sanctuary! Our youth minister posted a brag-out about his latest weapon purchase. And the worst, one of our nursery teachers took her 3yrold son to target practice and thought it was funny when he picked up a REAL handgun, aimed at a person and said ‘Bang! Bang! You’re dead!’ This is NOT FUNNY!

Leave a Reply

