Dad, your job doesn’t end at divorce

Father with child

Father with child (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 

This is an open letter to all fathers.  Personally, I did not have good luck with having a dad.  My biological father left when I was born.  My mom married a replacement shortly after that and he was extremely abusive.  When my mom left him when I was 11, he never spoke to me again and when asked if he wanted to see me, his answer was no.  I never saw him again.

 

Those two events did something to me.  They told me down deep that I was unwanted.  Not good enough.  Somehow less than.  30 years later I still struggle with those wounds.  I may never get by them.

 

So, if you’re a dad reading this, you have a job to do.  Unless the courts rightfully say otherwise, you are not released from your responsibility just because of a divorce.  Your children need things from you.  They need to know that they are wanted.  That they are good enough, that they have value.  There are things they need to learn from you.  You need to do your best to be an earthly example of God‘s love to His children.

 

It may be easier for you to just leave.  To just disappear.  You may even manage to convince yourself that it’s what’s best. That’s a lie and deep down you know it.  Deciding that your child can make it without you is accepting a lie.  Leaving you child in the lurch like that will cause damage that will last them a lifetime.

 

Don’t believe me?  Well, I’m one of those children that was abandoned twice.  At 42 years old, I still struggle with it.  And I’m not alone.  It’s just that most will not admit it.  God has laid out what He expects of dads in the bible.  Read it, live it and stop being afraid of your responsibility.

 

If this all sounds harsh, well, suck it up buttercup.  If you were being a real dad, then what I’m saying wouldn’t bother you because you would already be doing what I have written here. Make the change today.  You and your child don’t have time to waste.

 

5 comments on “Dad, your job doesn’t end at divorce

  1. You are absolutely right. I grew up w/o a dad as well. Mostly my mom raised me alone bit they were a couple of men in our lives and in the end, it really messed me up inside. Im 31 and it still affects me. Children need dads n their life. Period

  2. Pingback: Met My Dad for the First Time! | An Unheard Story

  3. Pingback: Adult Children Of Divorce | just telling it as it is

  4. Pingback: DADS AND DIVORCE | Family Matters With Amber

Leave a Reply

