Glock and the 2nd Amendment

English: An early "third generation"...

English: An early “third generation” Glock 17 (full-size pistol chambered for 9x19mm Parabellum), identified by the addition of thumb rests, an accessory rail, finger grooves on the front strap of the pistol grip and a single cross pin above the trigger. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 

As a gun fan, I’ve been watching the back and forth over gun control very closely.  I own a glock pistol.  I used to carry one as a police officer and when I bought a personal pistol, a Glock was a logical choice for me.

 

There is something that’s been bugging me though as of late.  In the midst of all of the gun control talk, many of the major and minor American born gun manufacturers have made public statements in support of 2nd amendment rights of private citizens.  I’ve looked at a couple of websites and seen the both Ruger and Smith and Wesson, for example, have pro 2nd statements on the front page of their site.  Glock does not.

 

As I did some web searching for the past couple of days, I’ve had to search very hard to find anything from Glock on gun rights.  In fact, it was only on some obscure twitter post that I found anything confirming Glock’s position.  According to the post, they are pro 2nd amendment, but they are definitely not making a very public opinion easy to find.

 

Glock supplies a lot of police forces, both state and federal.  It seems to me that Glock may be protecting it’s various government connections, and therefore it’s pocket book, by keeping quiet on the issue.  I am now seriously considering selling my Glock back to the gun store and purchasing a pistol from a company that started in the U.S. and has not been afraid to stand up for the rights of it’s citizens.  Just my thoughts, what do you think about Glock’s silence?

 

 

One comment on “Glock and the 2nd Amendment

  1. Pingback: Why I won’t carry a 22 as a defensive gun | Stuff I'm thinking or thought

Leave a Reply

