New PTSD Medication

English: Cases of PTSD and Severe Depression A...

English: Cases of PTSD and Severe Depression Among U.S. Veterans Deployed to Iraq and Afghanistan Between Oct 2001 and Oct 2007 (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 

So, I had my regularly scheduled meeting with my doc yesterday.  I told him about a recent experience I had on a trip.  Here’s the story.

 

I was recently on a trip with my wife.  Normally in a new place, I have a lot of problems with concentration and short term memory due to PTSD.  This hotel stay started out the same as usual.  I took a picture of our hotel room number with my phone so I could remember what room we were in.  I grabbed a hotel business card so I had the address in case I forgot how to get back once I was out and about.  Etc.  All the usual things I do to deal with PTSD symptoms.

 

But a strange thing happened.  I was down in the lobby when a group of guys came in.  They were shady and they made my former cop instinct go on high alert.  What happened next was new.  Suddenly, in that amped state, I could recall most everything with ease.  No need for a photo of our room number.  No need to look at my phone at all.  I was able to recall everything I needed to remember.

 

Once these guys were gone, it was back to my normal difficulties in my attention or memory recall.  So, I told the doc this strange to me story and he was intrigued.  He said that sometimes in PTSD, the usual medication over dulls the senses.  So, I still take the anxiety meds, but he added a stimulant.  This is my first morning taking it, but all I can say is wow!!!  My mind hasn’t been this clear in I don’t know how long.

 

This is my first day on it, so I don’t want to get over excited.  But hopefully this is the missing piece as far as medication goes.  By the way I just typed this post with absolutely no pauses to find the next word.  Another new change.

 

 

Leave a Reply

