Change your point of view

Nature's GPS

Nature’s GPS (Photo credit: Swamibu)

 

God talks to me in some unexpected ways sometimes.  Today was one of those times.  I’m somewhat a creature of habit.  With PTSD familiarity is a comforting thing.  It removes some of the stress of life.

 

But there are times when doing the familiar is a negative.  It’s easy to get stuck in a rut.  It’s easy to begin seeing everything in life through the same lens, often a negative one.

 

I was doing my usual this morning, standing on the back deck with my coffee.  I really didn’t pay attention to it before, but I always stand on the deck facing the same direction.  And usually thinking the same things.  But, this morning I had the thought to just turn around.  Face the other direction.  So I did.

 

It’s a whole different view looking the other way.  My view changed and in a way, so did the world.  The world can be a rough place.   Watch too much of the news, any news, and it’s easy to believe that there is absolutely no good left.  Nothing but war, storms, fights, arguments, and so on.

 

But, if you change your view, look at things from Jesus’ view point, then everything changes.  Suddenly, the mountains of life that seem insurmountable are just mole hills.   Where once you saw only bad on the horizon, you see Jesus standing right next to you.  Instead of seeing just the darkness, you see the squirrels, cardinals, other birds I don’t know the name of.  All of them being taken care of on a daily basis by a God who loves them in a way we will not understand this side of heaven.  And you and I are infinitely more valuable to God than anything else.

 

So, take the time to turn around today.  You may be surprised at what you find.

 

2 comments on “Change your point of view

  1. Someone once used this same argument to explain to me how I could believe that God was indeed real…it was a time when I had lost my faith and was struggling with the very concept of God. “His eye is on even the smallest sparrow…” She would say, and then point out the freshly bloomed day lillies along the fence, or the violets in the yard, or those pesky little squirrels stealing the bird feed. At that moment, it was what I needed. thanks for the reminder…turns out, that today, I REALLY needed the reminder.

Leave a Reply

